All Hail The Greyhound Bus

The light, stifled in your eyes
and your lips parted, and you pulled me in

How could I know?
those green eyes, those green eyes
they were the anchor.
How could I know?
That after that,
I could never let you go.

Countless miles, countless shows
We’ve seen it all in summer haze.
And how could I know,
that when that Greyhound bus
left me standing alone,
it would be so easy for you to let me go?

The freckles and the depth,
those green eyes.
Well they looked at me
But what they saw,
was an opportunity to get away from it all.

To get away from it all,
those whispers
and you sang to me so slow,
set up camp in my open heart.
How could I know,
that I was a pit stop on the open road?

Oh and the trouble, the struggle
and the way you shone
Set in sand
Set in stone

And you pulled me in closer
Before you let me go
Told me you knew I would see you again
Because true love, never ends.

So you stuck to the plan,
and stayed on the road,
your real true love
had much more control

Than I ever could.
And how could I know?

That cinemas and seashells
would scarcely exist,
in the world that you went to
So far from all of this.

Your addiction is strong,
your true love is real.
So heavy, so heavy
How could I know?

Those green eyes, anchored in my soul.
Where you stayed in my heart, for that very short time
Will have a reservation
Until you are mine

Those green eyes,
those green eyes.
God they deceived me so.
But after all of that,
I couldn’t have known.

2013

Leave a Reply

