The World As We Know It

So I guess I was being a little self consumed tonight?

If you are reading this, you either know me or you don’t. Sounds simple right? Well it’s not. If you are reading this, you either think that you know me, or you think that you don’t. It’s the thinking part that will get you into trouble.

There are quite a few myths about me… they linger and I let them. Most people who think that they know me don’t know me at all. But if you asked me, I would tell you.
I’m opinionated. I have strong opinions, and I back them up and defend them because I truly believe that if you feel something, you should stand by it.

I spent too many years, resisting feelings. Now I acknowledge them, and if they are feelings that make me uncomfortable, I take it on, I ride it out and then I let it go. Ironic how I can be so willing to accept these feelings and opinions, but I don’t feel the urge to put them on the surface.

If you asked me, I would tell you. I would let you in, a little bit, and then a lot. Then, whether you are my friend, my acquaintance, my “significant other”, I give you all of me.

But only if you ask for it. I think that thoughts and words, are so powerful. Why do we give them away so freely? We abuse our own minds by voicing things that we don’t necessarily believe in. I’m not doing that anymore.

I’ve been uninspired. Frankly, I’ve tried to write. But all of the things that I tried to express, I wasn’t feeling them. I had no right to put something into words that I didn’t believe in.

So here it is, my words. Maybe you could expect them, and maybe you’re still trying to figure me out. Aren’t we all? Aren’t we all just constantly trying to figure it out? We create the worlds that we live in, we create them by actions, by thoughts and by words.

Today I can say that there is nothing holding me back from making my own world. Today I can say that I created the world around me. Whether I am happy, whether I am sad, whether I am alone or encompassed by those who love me. I created that.

We let ourselves think that fate and coincidence run our lives. They do, to an extent. We follow paths that have been gently formed, but the boundaries are further than we think. We can make our own path, we can see our own world.

Today I can say that I created the world that I live in, with obvious help from a Higher Power and a little bit of nurture. I’m working on it, I’m spinning it in different directions with every moment. Today I can say that I am proud of the world I have created, so what about you?

Leave a Reply

