The Little Prince

Crickets in my ear
And a sky so clear
With a cool breeze
That smells of salt seas

With the dead bolt turned
My stomach churned
An image of that face
In all it’s adulteress grace

With big sad eyes
Looking up to clouded skies
And parted lips
Kissed your fingertips

Well here I am
In the promised land
Where the stars burned bright
But you were out of sight

Into them I looked
As I thought of the things you took
And laughed anyway
Because in those stars, you’d stay.

Leave a Reply

