Head Versus Heart

b3ab69799729939b34a9714da5996869

Sometimes I wonder,
if your head can hear my heart
and if what separates us is nothing
but these miles and miles apart

If your logic could meet my emotion,
somewhere around that halfway mark
What would become of these intoxicating motions
If your fear and my ambition were not divided by oceans

Of nothing tangible for you to see,
But the oceans of differences
within you and me

For as much as we are just one and the same,
We are characters of our own being,
a part of our own game

So if stagnant turned to something,
more than just exists,
And if you took me back to that first unavoidable kiss

Would we move through the world,
like limbs through water
Or would that fire consume us,
and only get hotter

You are right and I am left,
Here tonight with an empty chest
In bed with my head and a mind full of dreams,
That your heart can hear my head
when nothing is as it seems

And you’re right but I am left,
Without a soul to blame
But my head and my heart,
Endlessly circling towards,
being one and the same.

Leave a Reply

