The Karma Series – Law Five

Criticizing fit moms? Now that IS a shame

5. The Law of Responsibility

“Whenever there is something wrong, there is something wrong in me. We mirror what surrounds us, and what surrounds us mirrors us; we must take responsibility for what is in our life.”

Too many people, too many times cannot see how their own actions got them to where they are presently. Whether good or bad, it is you who needs to take responsibility for your current situation. There are things that I hate to admit to, but admitting to them and learning from them are the only way you will grow. I am responsible for myself. If I did not complete a task at work, it was not because someone put too much on my plate, it is because I did not prioritize correctly and I can work on that next time. If someone takes advantage of me time after time, it’s because I let them. Taking responsibility forces you to look at something for what it is and not from your own biased perspective. My generation especially is so eager to find a scapegoat. I’ve seen people who have been caught cheating even blame the messenger because they are too caught up in thinking they are “the victim” they cannot see how badly they are hurting the people around them. Pretty logical, right?  Just know what you are capable of, and what you are not. Own up to those deficiencies, and work on them positively. You are the only person who can affect your own life. But just as you need to accept the repercussions for something you may have done wrong, you also need to be able to let yourself receive praise for the things you have done right. You met your deadline because you are organized and efficient. You are happy, because you have made others happy.

If you are looking for a reason as to why things are the way they are,

Stop  projecting, and look within yourself.

Leave a Reply

